Share this page

Easy Read Health and Social Care Standards

Published by the Scottish Government in June 2017, the standards set out what care should look like and feel like for people across Scotland every time they use health and social care services. The standards will help support improvement in services across health and social care.

There are five standards and these are underpinned by five principles that are based on human rights and wellbeing:

  • Dignity and respect
  • Compassion
  • Be included
  • Responsive care and support
  • Wellbeing

Shona Robison is a Member of the Scottish Parliament and her job is to look after health in Scotland. She says:

Everyone should get high quality care and support that meets their needs and choices. This might be in a hospital, a care home, a children’s nursery, or within their own home.

All of us at some point in our lives will use or know someone who uses a health or social care service.

These new Health and Social Care Standards are very important to make sure that everyone in Scotland gets the care and support that is right for them.

Click here to download - "Health and Social Care Standards, My support, my life. Easy Read version"

This is about Scotland’s Health and Social Care Standards. It is short and easy to read. It gives some examples and has some pictures to help people understand what the Standards are. It will help people understand how good their care should be. If you want to see the full Standards, you can find them on the internet at: 

What is the difference between a Council and a PKAVS support plan?

What is the difference between a Council and a PKAVS support plan?